Sunday, March 28, 2010

Manager Tracker

With the recent announcement that Darrell Evans will manage the St. George RoadRunners in 2010, it's a nice time to take a look at the journey of past and current GBL managers who have ties to multiple Golden League teams:

Garry Templeton
The former three-time National League All-Star was the first manager in Flyers history. After serving as conductor for the Train from 2005-07, he worked two seasons in the Arizona Winter League before rejoining the ranks of GBL managers as skipper of the Long Beach Armada in 2009. With the Armada going dark for the 2010 season, Tempy has since become an outlaw, well, a Chico Outlaw.

Darrell Evans
Another inaugural skipper in the GBL, Evans crewed the Armada from 2005-07 before joining Gary Carter's coaching staff in 2008 to lead the Flyers to a championship. As the hitting coach in OC, Evans coached perhaps the most prolific offense in GBL history, featuring heavy hitters Pat Breen, Jermy Acey and many more. In 2009, the Victoria Seals named him the first manager in team history, but after parting ways from the organization just weeks ago, Evans landed with the St. George RoadRunners as manager for 2010.

Cory Snyder
A former All-Star with the Cleveland Indians, Snyder managed the RoadRunners for three seasons (2007-09) before joining GM Rick Berry in the Hawaiian Islands as the new field manager for Na Koa Ikaika Maui.

Les Lancaster
The former MLB pitcher managed the Mesa Miners in the GBL's first season in 2005. When the Miners and Surprise Fighting Falcons closed up shop after one year of baseball in Arizona, Lancaster put on his Silver Sox to manage the GBL's Reno franchise from 2006-07.

Mike Marshall
While the former Dodger only managed one GBL team - the Yuma Scorpions from 2007-08 - he is now on his second stint as a GM in the league. Marshall pulled double-duty in Yuma as the General Manager and Field Manager. He ran the front office through the 2009 season and is now serving as the President/GM of the Chico Outlaws.

In 2010, seven of the 10 GBL teams will have a new manager. Granted two of the teams are new this season, but it's still a lot of moving around. Here's the list:

New GBL managers for 2010:
Calgary Vipers - Morgan Burkhardt
Chico Outlaws - Garry Templeton
Edmonton Capitals - Brent Bowers
Na Koa Ikaika Maui - Cory Snyder
Orange County - Paul Abbott
St. George RoadRunners - Darrell Evans
Tijuana Cimarrones - Enrique Brito
Tucson Toros - Tim Johnson
Victoria Seals - Bret Boone
Yuma Scorpions - Darryl Brinkley

No comments:

Post a Comment